A Phoenix Rising!

DSC_0737 copy - wm

‘Look at the bigger picture’, these are the first words that come out of his mouth. Amahle takes a seat across the table and explains, ‘I’m trying to change the world’. Amahle R Phoenix is a film student at Wits, a model, dancer and aspiring entrepreneur. 

We’re in the middle of a conversation about, art and what life as an aspiring artist is like. ‘Artists need money, in order to be heard, in order to do what we want to do and express ourselves’ he says. ‘You have to start networking and marketing yourself now’, you can hear the passion in his voice as we speak. ‘We’re gonna leave here dude, and for me this is just me preparing myself for the bigger dream outside of film school.’

Amahle is the co-founder of a promotion company named, Chilli Promotions. They organize after school events like matric dance after parties. He remembers how special that moment was –his matric dance- and he wanted to be a part of something that creates those special moments for other people as well. For him, this is a growing business that will lead him closer to achieving his dreams, ‘I need to do this in order to do what I want to do’.

What is Amahle doing, as an everyday artizen? He is constantly creating. In between writing poetry, creating images and stories; he finds new ways to express and grow. ‘I mean I am where I am because someone saw something in me, and it’s about time we saw something in ourselves, and that’s what I’m here to find’.

Be on the lookout for this rising star, whose passion for art transcends artistry alone.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Kea Mooka

Photography by Sameera Soorjee Photography

