Re Basadi

rebasadi8

We were launched into a feminine conversation, when we came across a creative young woman on a mission to run the world. Tebatso Molapo, a photographer, Film and Televison student at Wits and the Founder of Re Basadi, which means ‘we are women’. The name alone is enough to motivate you to slay your life. It is an affirmation of womanhood.

What motivated Tebatso to start Re Basadi? “Re Basadi, the idea sparked when I noticed a gap within my home town. Too many of the local brands were owned by guys, and I questioned why we as women couldn’t establish our own, and put ourselves out there. I realized a lack of motivation, then I decided d to start Re Basadi. I intended for it to be a platform  where women can just come together, share ideas and support each other.”

Her strongest passion is to motivate women, and address women’s issues. ” I believe in financial freedom and I believe that is something that every woman should have. I strive to get women involved, and give them a platform to grow themselves.”

Tebatso embraces the fact that we were born for a bigger purpose, and her dream is to fulfill her purpose, pursuing a journey to success for herself and everyone around her.

Re Basadi currently has two projects running, the first is called “A Part of Me”, a pad campaign run by Relebohile Majoro. The second is a called “Dress-A-Girl”‘ which is run by Charlon Mpuse. All of which are efforts to better the lives on young women in her community.

“I see Re Basadi having dominating South Africa, and other Southern African Countries, the goal is to partner with  women led organisations in the near future”

The Re Basadi movement is a truly inspirational movement, Tebatso reminds us that “Dreams can only be  achieved if you’re willing to work hard on them.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Kea Mooka

